My first Wiksten Tova 

 

So I have finally got some photos of my first Wiksten Tova and I am excited to share them with you.

First I feel I should explain that I hate photos of myself and generally avoid them at all costs but for the sake of my blogging I posed for these today at a lovely National Trust place and let my husband take photos.

This is my first top and only my second piece of clothing I have made. I probably should have eased my way in with something simple, but anyone who knows me knows that is just not my way.

Having read loads of blogs I came across the Wiksten Tova and fell in love, it is the style of top I like to buy in RTW clothing so being able to make my own was the way forward.

 

 

The material is some cheap cotton that I picked up from Masons in Abingdon which is probably more appropriate for sewing smart trousers or a skirt. It is lovely and soft though, sewed like a dream and has washed and ironed well.

There were so many new things for me to learn with this pattern but with the instructions and a sew-a-long I found it was do-able.

I used my walking foot for most of it and just took my time. The placket on the front doesn’t quite overlap as it seems to have moved when attaching it to the rest of the top, but otherwise I was very happy with the outcome. I made a FBA and shortened the dress length that I cut to what you see in the pictures.

Another Tova is on the plans for the near future, watch this space.

Leave a Reply

